Boards & Commissions

Statute requires Department of Human Services oversight and/or involvement in a variety of boards, commissions and advisory committees. Membership, appointment and representation on these boards is determined by individual statue. Below is a list of these boards in which we have a primary administrative role as directed by law. Please contact the administrative DHS Division, Office or Institution for specific information on membership, function and purpose of the board. Click here for a full list of Utah boards and commissions.

Board of Aging and Adult Services: Division of Aging and Adult Services

– Christy Achziger
– Richard Jolley

– Martha Autry
– Diena Simmons
– Kelly Van Noy

– Neil Anderton
– Sharon Ott

Board of Juvenile Justice Services: Division of Juvenile Justice Services

– David Harper
– David Ogden
– Craig Hall, Sr.

– Sharon McCully

Child Support Guidelines Advisory Committee: Executive Director’s Office

– Russell Minas, Utah State Bar
– Lori Nelson, Utah State Bar

– Sherrie Chynoweth, Office of Recovery Services
– Brian Higginbotham, diverse interests
– Joe Price, expertise in economics
– Judge Clark McClellan, Judicial Council
– Marnie Bushman, non-custodial parent

Vacant positions:
– Non-custodial parent
– Custodial parent
– Custodial parent
– Diverse interests

Utah Marriage Commission: Executive Director’s Office

– Alan Hawkins, BYU Family Life

– Veola Burchett, Catholic Diocese, Family Life Office
– Allen Christensen, Utah State Senate
– LaVar Christensen, Christensen and Associates
– Nate Cottle, UVU Family Studies
– Becky Edwards, Utah House of Representatives
– Pearl Hart, USOE FCS Education
– Lyle Hillyard, Utah State Senate
– Mark Jarvis, SLCC Family and Human Studies
– Dannelle Larsen-Rife, Dixie State Psychology
– Jackie Leavitt, General public
– Davis Schramm, USU Extension Services
– Paul Schvaneveldt, University marriage and family appointee
– Julee Smith, Your Community Connection
– Carol Spackman Moss, Utah House of Representatives
– Sherilyn Stinson, LDS Family Services
– Gerry White, Faith-based appointee

Consulting Members:
– Randy Chatelain, therapist
– Lisa Diamond, University of Utah
– Brian Higginbotham, USU Extension Services
– Scott Hogensen, Utah Association of Clerk/Auditors
– Cassandra Southam Eggertsen, Refugee Action Network

Utah State Developmental Center Board: Division of Services for People with Disabilities

– Laura Anderson, public member
– Don Gordon, parent of USDC services recipient
– Fred Jex, public member
– Carmen Pingree, parent of USDC services recipient
– Angella Pinna, DSPD director
– Manuel Smiley, USDC resident
– Scott Smith, public member
– Lana Stohl, DHS Deputy Director
– Guy Thompson, USDC superintendent

Youth Parole Authority: Division of Juvenile Justice Services

– Alvin Emery, Part-time member

– Myron Benson, Part-time member
– Sharlene Christensen, Part-time member
– Ferris Groll, Part-time member
– Margaret Jackson, Part-time member
– Beatrice Martinez, Part-time member
– Mitchell Six, Part-time member
– Lynn Stewart, Part-time member
– Rick Westmoreland, Part-time member
– Athelia Woolley, Part-time member

Vacant Positions:
– Pro-Tempore board member
– Pro-Tempore board member
– Pro-Tempore board member
– Pro-Tempore board member
– Pro-Tempore board member