Training Opportunities


 
 

BEHAVIORAL HEALTH


Zero Suicide Summit

July 19, 8a-5p

Utah Cultural Celebration Center, West Valley City

Cost: $50-75

Join us for a day of training, skill building workshops and inspiration to improve the care you provide to individuals at risk of suicide.

Register by July 17

Utah Advanced Training for QPR Instructors

Aug. 16, 9a-2p

McKay-Dee Hospital, Ogden

Cost: Free to Current QPR Instructors in Utah

This is an opportunity to learn how to present newly available materials for QPR in Utah. Training will include: Firearm safety, Naloxone and Opioids, language for suicide prevention best practices, online survey use, and more.

Register

Utah Fall Conference

Sept. 18-20, 8a-4:30p daily

Dixie Convention Center, St. George

Cost: $225 Early Bird (before Aug. 5); Group discounts for 4+ available

The Utah Fall Conference is the premier educational and networking event for those in behavioral health fields. Learning tracks include treatment, justice, prevention or family services.

Register

Utah Trauma Academy

(by competitive application process)

Oct. 21-25, 8a-5p daily

Multiagency State Office Building, 195 N. 1950 West, Salt Lake City, Rooms 1020 ABC

Cost: Free with approved application

The Utah Trauma Academy is based on the Victims Academy developed by the Office of Victims of Crime at the Department of Justice, which is a professional development certificate program. Gabriella Grant, M.A., Director for the California Center of Excellence for Trauma Informed Care is the developer and facilitator for this event.

Application

 

CHILDREN, YOUTH & FAMILY


DCFS Provider Practice Model

(limited enrollment)

Aug. 22, 10a-2p

Salem DCFS Building, 609 N State Rd 198, Salem

Cost: Free

This is a training offered by the Division of Child and Family Services (DCFS) for all contracted providers to learn the basic principles of DCFS Practice Model. Registration is required and limited to 50 participants. Registration will close once the training is full.

Register

Utah Domestic Violence Coalition Annual Conference “Interrupting Intergenerational Domestic Violence Through Evidence-Based Interventions”

Sept. 11-13, 8a-4:45p daily

Utah Valley Convention Center, Provo

Cost: $275 by Aug. 21 (Daily rate $150)

Newly-combined annual conference on domestic violence treatment, advocacy, awareness, solutions as a joint venture between the Utah Domestic Violence Coalition and the Utah Association for Domestic Violence Treatment. Good for advocates, law enforcement officials, attorneys, healthcare providers, homeless service providers, behavioral and mental health specialists who serve and/or interact with survivors of domestic and intimate partner violence. Interrupting Intergenerational Domestic Violence Through Evidence-Based Interventions. Register

 

DISABILITY SERVICES


ACRE Customized Employment Training

July 17-19 and Aug. 1-2

USU SLC Campus, Taylorsville

Cost: Free

This training is designed to provide participants with the requisite skills for understanding and developing an array of employment supports for individuals with disabilities. The training is competency focused and will provide participants with the knowledge and skills to develop validated strategies to meet the diverse integrated employment needs of individuals with disabilities. Participants enrolled are required to attend 28 hours of direct contact training, successfully participate in a minimum of 12 field-based hours to complete assignments and complete and pass an online test. Hosted by the Utah State University – Employment and Community Integration Training and Technical Assistance Center.

Register

Support Coordinator Quarterly DHS/DSPD Meeting

July 17, 10-11:30a and Oct. 16, 10:30-Noon

Multiagency State Office Building, 195 N. 1950 West, Salt Lake City, Rooms 1020C and online

Cost: Free

An opportunity to keep Support Coordinators up to date on what is happening in the Department and Division and collaborate to improve services for people with disabilities in Utah.

Caregiver Talks: Tube Feeding

July 31, 1:30p

Utah State Developmental Center, American Fork (Heather Building Basement)

Cost: Free

Taught by Dr. Pam Poulsen, a current practitioner at USDC. She will go through the different types of tube feeding, the benefits and the myths about it. No registration required.

Caregiver Talks: Personality Disorders

Aug. 28, 1:30p

Utah State Developmental Center, American Fork (Heather Building Basement)

Cost: Free

Taught by Dr. Brent Griffin, a current psychiatrist at USDC, treating mainly individuals in the admission unit. He has more than 40 years of experience practicing psychiatric medicine. No registration required.

USDC Annual Fall Conference

Sept. 12, 8a-5p

Utah State Developmental Center, American Fork Utah, Valantine Theater

Cost: $50

Special Education professionals, social workers, caregivers, staff and affiliates will learn developments and best practices in working with people with disabilities from three speakers. Continuing Education credits available. Registration information will be posted in August. 

 

PARTNER EVENTS / RESOURCES

(not sponsored by DHS)


Utah Ops Conf “Building on SUCCESS: Unleash Your Full Potential”

Sept. 9-10, 8a-5p daily

Davis Conference Center, Layton

Cost: $199-$399 Early Bird by Aug. 1

Utah’s premier operational excellence event for government and business hosted by the Governor’s Office of Management and Budget and Goldratt Consulting. Agenda and Register

Utah Criminal Justice Conference

Sept. 11, 8:30a-4:30p

Utah Cultural Celebration Center, 1335 West 3100 South, West Valley City

Cost: $85 (half-day) and $200 (full day) before July 31

This conference hosted by the Utah Criminal Justice Center brings together researchers, practitioners, correctional professionals, administrators, students, academics and policymakers from across the state to discuss emerging research and developments in the criminal and juvenile justice field.

Register